Enid Wilson’s retelling of Pride and Prejudice has a steamy angelic twist

Today I’m delighted to welcome Enid Wilson, one of my colleagues from last year’s Blog Book Tours course. Enid’s book Really Angelic: Pride and Prejudice with a paranormal twist arrived in today’s mail, and I’ve had a hard time putting it down long enough to write this post.

Really Angelic is a melding of three genres I’m unaccustomed to reading: it’s a retelling of a Jane Austen novel, it has a strong supernatural aspect, and it’s over-the-top romantic and sexy. Enid explores what would have happened if Elizabeth Bennet were actually Darcy’s guardian angel. I’ve read about a third of the book, and Elizabeth is still somewhat perplexed by her newfound powers, including the ability to sprout wings and fly when the occasion demands. She and Darcy have already had some steamy and highly explicit encounters, but they haven’t fully consummated their relationship. They’ve just been abducted by highwaymen . . .

Enid has me hooked, and I can’t wait to see what happens next. I also plan to reread Pride and Prejudice. I became newly intrigued by Jane Austen when I saw the wonderful exhibit about her at the Morgan Library in New York City last December, and I wrote about her early self-published status in my December 4th, titled “Was Jane Austen a professional writer? Not according to the Mystery Writers of America.” I hope you’ll check it out, and by all means, leave some comments for Enid on today’s post.

 Enid sent me this article about the mother-daughter relationship in Pride and Prejudice. Read to the end to learn how to win a copy of Really Angelic!

 MOTHER AND DAUGHTER

“Come here, child,” cried her father as she appeared.  “I have sent for you on an affair of importance.  I understand that Mr. Collins has made you an offer of marriage.  Is it true?”  Elizabeth replied that it was.  “Very well–and this offer of marriage you have refused?”

 “I have, sir.”

“Very well.  We now come to the point.  Your mother insists upon your accepting it.  Is it not so, Mrs. Bennet?”

“Yes, or I will never see her again.”

“An unhappy alternative is before you, Elizabeth.  From this day you must be a stranger to one of your parents.  Your mother will never see you again if you do not marry Mr. Collins, and I will never see you again if you do.” – Pride and Prejudice, Chapter 20.

If you still remember Pride and Prejudice, one of the most interesting issues of the book was Elizabeth Bennet’s relationship with her parents, especially her mother. Mrs Bennet “disliked” her for refusing to marry the heir of Longbourn Mr. Collins, thus failing to save the family from destitute should Mr. Bennet met his destiny.

Many Pride and Prejudice retelling stories explore this aspect to the fullest. On the one hand, there are stories which found Mrs. Bennet to be a woman of sense and took care of her daughters financial needs while her neglectful husband hid in the library with his books.

On the other hand, there are many scenarios which talked about Mrs. Bennet’s dislike of Elizabeth:

  •  Mrs. Bennet tried to drug Lizzy and compromised her with a rich suitor
  • She tried to kill Elizabeth because her second daughter happened to be alive, while the male twin heir was a still born
  • She tried to sell Lizzy to Mr. Darcy to repay a debt

Ecstasy of St. Theresa by Bernini

In my latest novel, Really Angelic, Pride and Prejudice with a paranormal twist, I’ve given a reason for Mrs. Bennet’s fluttering about Lizzy’s escapades and marrying well.

Elizabeth is in fact an angel fallen from Heaven found by Mrs. Bennet, as a “compensation” for a goddess snatching away her baby Lizzy.

Too far fetched? It may be. But that’s a retelling. In the beginning of the novel, mother and daughter had a similar relationship as in Jane Austen’s original tale but towards the end of the novel when Lizzy’s life was threatened, her mother’s genuine love for her was shown.

Below is an adapted excerpt from Really Angelic about this.

         “Lizzy! Oh, my Lizzy, you are safe!” Mrs. Bennet, rushing to her side, hugged her tightly and sobbed aloud. “I cannot bear it if you are taken away from me again.”

          Elizabeth was stunned. Her mother did not consider her the favourite and had seldom shown her much affection. She knew that her mother loved her, in her own peculiar way, but she was very touched by her expression of worry over her safety. Elizabeth hugged her back.

       “Come, Fanny, we should go inside.” Mr. Bennet said. Elizabeth was surprised at the tender tone of his voice.

       “I do not see the reason for all this fuss and the rush,” a new voice said, and Elizabeth turned to see her youngest sister Lydia jumping down from the coach. “Lizzy, did the highwaymen ravish you? Did you enjoy it? Were they handsome?”

        At that, Mrs. Bennet gasped and swooned.

Well, what do you think of the relationship of Elizabeth with her parents, in the original Pride and Prejudice or some of the retelling stories?

Enid is delighted to offer a paperback copy of Really Angelic to one of you. Warning: The book contains mature content and is not for the Jane Austen purist. Just tell us what you think by commenting below before 5 February and you have a chance to win the book. Entry opens to worldwide readers. To read more about Enid’s books, you can visit http://steamydarcy.com

13 thoughts on “Enid Wilson’s retelling of Pride and Prejudice has a steamy angelic twist

  1. Thanks Julie for having me. Sorry the book arrives so late. Perhaps it’s affected by the big cold snap in America…It’s good that you like it so far.

  2. Hi Enid! Actually the book may have arrived earlier – I had it sent to my brand-new post office box, which I hadn’t been checking because virtually no one yet knows it exists.
    So your book was the first “real” mail I received there. (I’d decided that since I’m going so public online, it behooved me to use something other than my street address – after a man asked for my address so that he could send me some unspecified object to autograph.)

    Rebecca Cantrell’s book A TRACE OF SMOKE, set in 1930’s Berlin, arrived too. I encourage folks to scroll down and read her guest post if you haven’t yet.

    I was up till two a.m. following Lizzy and Darcy’s ongoing adventures. When it comes to sex, she certainly is a quick study after she loses her virginal status! Definitely X-rated, but reading your book is making me realize I’m not quite the old crone I thought I was.

  3. Enid has one highly developed imagination that is a true talent. Enid has the potential to write scores of books in her lifetime. I’m not surprised she has another one published.

    Stephen Tremp

  4. Well, we’ve had Jane with Zombies, now Jane with angels! It reminds me of a short story by a Russian (forget which one!) where a pregnant woman begs God for a male companion who won’t get her pregnant again so he sends her an angel, and in her lust she rolls over and crushes him. God is none too pleased. I’d like to read Wilson’s version! Marilyn aka: M. E. Kemp, author of non-angelic two nosy Puritan series: DEATH OF A BAWDY BELLE (closest to Wilson’s theme) and DEATH OF A DANCING MASTER, coming in ’10.

  5. Enid, thanks again for your visit. Stephen and Heidi, thanks for stopping by. And Marilyn, I think you’ll enjoy Enid’s book. I’ll lend it to you next time I see you.

  6. Marilyn, I’m afraid of watching horror movies or reading horror books. So I won’t be reading P&P and Zombies. The Russian story seems very interesting.

  7. Enid has inspired me to revisit Jane Austen, so the other night in Barnes & Noble I found reprints of PRIDE AND PREJUDICE and SENSE AND SENSIBILITY. Then I opened them – egad, so many pages and such small type! I decided I wasn’t up for it right now – I’d rather read my contemporaries, like Enid. I still may try Austen, but I think I’ll get copies from the library – that way I won’t feel I’ve thrown away money if I can’t get through them.

    I wonder if Jane would find an audience if she were writing today, and at such great length?

  8. Jane would always find an audience. There are many huge tomes published by male authors like Tom Clancy/John Grisham that sell like hot cakes. Jane would be considered a literary writer, but look at the first sentence of P & P! Sets the tone for the whole book. Just watched Emma on PBS and enjoyed it very much! Gwenneth Paltrow did a wonderful job in the movie several years ago, which may have been a bit closer to the book. Julie, you need to take a stormy winter day off, get a cup of hot chocolate and curl up with a Jane Austen. P&P, Emma or Persuasion — I love them all! Persuasion may be more to your liking I think. Maybe I can persuade you to become a Janie. (If there are Trekkies there can be Janies!) If you’re afraid of a long book, I just re-read Lorna Doone, which I read many times as a kid! Never realized what a long book that one is! And written in Yorkshire dialect! So don’t talk to me about Jane being too long. Marilyn aka: M. E. Kemp, Lord of the Nosy Puritans

Leave a Reply

