Amazing synchronicity amd live WordPress lesson

What are the odds that out of 22 participants in Blog Book Tour’s Blog-A-Day challenge, three of us live in the Capital Region in upstate New York? And that one of those uses WordPress and offered me a live tutorial? (Most people in the BAD challenge are using BlogSpot.)

Today I met Alexis Grant at Panera for lunch and a lesson in WordPress. Among other things, she taught me the right way to insert links and changed the widgets on my page in ways I hadn’t thought possible. She’s a wonderful teacher. Though it will take awhile to assimilate everything, I experienced none of my usual techno-anxiety – perhaps because she did all the work on her laptop, while I watched, asked questions and took notes. I’ll blog more about the experience tomorrow – for now, once again, it’s my cats’ bedtime, and I need to vacate my office.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Alexis Grant
    May 12, 2009 @ 23:16:42

    So great to meet you, Julie!

    Reply

  2. theoldsilly
    May 13, 2009 @ 08:43:59

    One of the fringe benefits of blogging is the friends you make. Extremely rare, however, is it to actually get to meet one of your “e-friends” in the flesh. How wonderful for the two of you! I enjoy Alexis’ blog very much, she seems to be a great gal and your experience and this post add veracity to the e-impression I have gotten about her.

    Wonderful short and to the point post – always enjoy my visits here. 🙂

    Reply

    • julielomoe
      May 15, 2009 @ 23:06:17

      Thanks, Marvin. K.A. Laity lives nearby too – it’ll be even more amazing when the three of us get together!

      Glad you’re still checking in and enjoying my blogs, but for some reason I found your comment in my spam folder. Don’t know why – oh well, at least I caught up with you eventually.

      Reply

  3. Karen Walker
    May 13, 2009 @ 09:56:23

    How fortunate for you, Julie. I’m going to have to find me a buddy who can help with that stuff. Now why didn’t I think of that?

    Karen
    http://www.karenfollowingthewhispers.blogspot.com

    Reply

  4. K. A. Laity
    May 13, 2009 @ 22:35:15

    Alexis, you’re very sweet to do this! We need to plan a get together — maybe at the Muddy Cup, as they have wireless and we can all live blog!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

