Eureka! Transcending my technophobia

Amazingly enough, I just figured out how to create a blogroll and added links to six of you under the heading of Blog Book Tours. This was a major hurdle for me, as I suffer acute anxiety when confronted with confusing new computer challenges.

A couple of years ago, at my husband’s suggestion, I enrolled in a course in Dreamweaver web design at the local community college. I was by far the oldest student there, and the only one either nervy enough or stupid enough to ask any questions. The instructor was super-speedy; even worse, she had a truly unintelligible Russian accent. Before the third class, I suffered a panic attack so acute that I ended up having an EKG at the doctor’s office. Next day, I withdrew – and I still don’t know Dreamweaver. Rather ironic, since I graduated with distinction from a couple of Ivy League schools.

If I can actually learn to enjoy fooling around with internet stuff without asking my hubby for advice, it’ll be a major win! Speaking of my husband, we celebrated our 34th anniversary today (May 3) with dinner at a great new Albany restaurant – New World Bistro Bar, for those of you in the area, and I know Alexis is.

I’ll add more links tomorrow. Now, I’ll try seeing if the ones I added actually work. I’ll post more about my community organizing seminar as well – thanks to those of you who asked.

9 thoughts on “Eureka! Transcending my technophobia

  1. I was watching “Little Miss Sunshine” today, and grandpa says:

    “Losers are those who give up because they can’t stand the thought of NOT winning!”

    Kudos for keeping on – AND winning the techie wars. Each victory is special. Enjoy them 🙂

    All success
    Dr.Mani
    Author: “Think, Write & RETIRE!”
    http://ThinkWriteRetire.com

  2. Happy Anniversary!

    I haven’t been to New World Bistro Bar yet, but I have been hearing good things about it. Can’t wait to try it.

    Dreamweaver is not completely necessary, I think. I do know how to use it, but the websites I use are easy enough to update with just a text editor. You can get ready-made templates at Open Source Web Design. My website is one and looks great. Celebrate every little success!

Leave a Reply

