Community Organizing & Kentucky Derby

Thanks to all the folks who posted comments on yesterday’s blog, my first for Blog Book Tours. (I just tried inserting a link for the first time, as one of my colleagues suggested. Hope it works out!)

Today I attended an all-day workshop on community organizing by Greg Gallusso, the man who trained Barack Obama! He’s all about the power of community and the strength that comes from establishing 1:1 relationships. He’s with the Gamaliel Foundation – I can post further information if anyone’s interested, or you can Google him. His type of organizing has many useful applications for writers – for example, our very own online community.

Then I came home to watch the Kentucky Derby – really psyched to see Mine That Bird, a longshot (50 to 1) horse come in first! And his trainer Chip Woolley (who looked like a country-western star, all in black and on crutches with a broken leg from a motorcycle accident) drove him on a 21-hour trip from New Mexico via pickup truck and horse trailer. Hooray for the underdogs (and horses.)

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynnette Labelle
    May 03, 2009 @ 01:56:50

    Wasn’t the Derby great! I loved it, too. Your link did work, but it took me away from your blog. You want to set it up to open another window instead.

    Lynnette Labelle
    http://lynnettelabelle.blogspot.com

    Reply

    • julielomoe
      May 04, 2009 @ 19:53:46

      Thanks for the advice, Lynette. Do you have any suggestions as to how I can do this? I see you’re on Blogspot and I’m on WordPress, so it may be different – I’ll no doubt figure it out eventually.

      Reply

  2. Dani
    May 03, 2009 @ 02:15:23

    Lovely header and I’m looking forward to reading more! Have you figured out how to add the blogrolls yet?

    Dani
    http://blogbooktours.blogspot.com

    Reply

  3. Patricia Stoltey
    May 03, 2009 @ 02:44:23

    Darn, Julie, I can’t believe I missed the Kentucky Derby. Just shows you what a great distraction my three-week old grandbaby is.

    Sounds like you’re into some interesting stuff if you’re taking a workshop on community organizing. What kinds of topics will you cover in your blogs?…..Pat

    Reply

  4. Dr.Mani
    May 03, 2009 @ 08:58:37

    Sounds fascinating, working with the man who trained the President 🙂

    Do please share some of your lessons from the experience that might be of help to writers/authors in a future blog post or two.

    All success
    Dr.Mani
    Author: “Think, Write & RETIRE!”
    http://ThinkWriteRetire.com

    Reply

  5. Alexis Grant
    May 03, 2009 @ 17:06:30

    Good work with the link! If you ever need help with WordPress, I’ve used it for a while now and finally feel comfortable! Before writing the Aspiring Author blog, I blogged on Inkslinging in Africa: http://www.allonsy.wordpress.com.

    Glad to have another upstate NYer in the class!

    Lexi

    Reply

  6. Marvin D Wilson
    May 03, 2009 @ 19:52:07

    What a great day you had!

    Reply

  7. Karen Brees
    May 03, 2009 @ 21:26:09

    There’s something about the strains of “My Old Kentucky Home” that make me want to drink a mint julep and I don’t even know what one is. Nice post

    Reply

  8. cmkempe
    May 03, 2009 @ 23:34:51

    Great post! It is always so gratifying when the dark horse wins the day. After the sadness of last year’s Derby, this was a real lift.

    Reply

  9. K. A. Laity
    May 03, 2009 @ 23:35:34

    Great post! It is always so gratifying when the dark horse wins the day. After the sadness of last year’s Derby, this was a real lift.

    Reply

  10. I Was Able to Lose Thirty Póunds in Only a Month
    May 06, 2009 @ 23:36:57

    Hi, interesting post. I have been wondering about this issue,so thanks for posting. I’ll definitely be coming back to your posts. Keep up the good posts

    Reply

Leave a Reply

